Spiritual

Summer 2011

I spent my entire summer 2011 here. This city definitely stole my heart. The homeless and hurting of Louisville, Ky is the part the stole my heart the most. I was part of the Hope for Louisville summer internship at Jefferson Street Baptist Center. God really opened my eyes to things that summer to things that had never occurred to me before. The fact that not all homeless people are the same was one of the main things that I realized.

There are some people out there that are down on their luck.

Some may have not made the best of life’s choices.

For some, this is all that they have ever known.

Others know that they need to get out of this turmoil, but the light at the end of the tunnel just seems too far away.

I’ve seen some of the most joy come from a homeless person than what I’ve seen from many financially stable people.

I found just how vital HOPE is to have in your life.

When we have hope in the Lord, tables begin to turn. Depression, Homelessness, Financial issues, Drugs, Abuse, EVERYTHING just seems to be on the back burner.

Another lesson that I have learned during my internship with twelve other people is: Christian Community. I had never had such a tight knit community of other women wanting to dig into a deeper, spiritual relationship with me. These women who I had only known for a few days were beginning to learn everything about me. My struggles, things that make me happy, things that make me sad, things that I had never told anyone in my life about… they knew. The crazy part about it was I was happy about it.

God has given us the people around us for a reason.

Yes, we must run to Him before anything but He has given us people to connect with, to encourage, to uplift, to pray for each other. God has given us Laughter.

God wants us to be joyful. He doesn’t put us through hard times to torture us or to punish us because we have forgiveness through His son, Christ Jesus. God doesn’t give is anything that He can not help us through. God wants us to rely on Him fully and not on ourselves. Being out in the world and seeing others struggles alongside my own I have learned many lessons.

Focus: Serve God and His people… everything else will fall into place.

Leave a Reply

