Life · Recipes

A Thank You Note with a side of Fiesta

My grandparents have done so much for me my entire life. I always feel like I should pay them back somehow.

IMG_1030

But how to do pay your grandparents back for raising you? For always being there when you had no one else to run to? For helping you through college? Buying you your necessities when you were broke? For going out of their way to help you in any way that they could?

Truth is. You can’t.

But I’ve decided to cook them dinner tonight. Just a small way of saying thanks.

Now I’m not the best cook, but I am good at following recipes.

And if you’ve seen my Pinterest board… You’ve seen that I have pinned a TON of recipes.

But my all time favorite so far is the chicken enchiladas.

pap

I’ve placed the frozen chicken in the sink to thaw for a little while before I start, but I figured I’d post the recipe here too so you guys could try it out. TRUST me…

It’s worth it! and very easy to do as well!

I am so thankful for my grandparents (if you can’t already see that).

I wouldn’t be who I am today without them, that’s for sure. They spoiled me to death, but isn’t that what grandparents are supposed to do?

So this is a thank you to them and a little treat to the readers as well.

I’m sure half of these ingredients are already in your kitchen! So go! Go get the rest and make them tonight! You won’t be sorry!

enchilada

White Chicken Enchiladas

10 soft taco shells
2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
3 Tbsp. butter
3 Tbsp. flour
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup sour cream
1 (4 oz) can diced green chillies
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9×13 pan
2. Mix chicken and 1 cup cheese. Roll up in tortillas and place in pan.
3. In a sauce pan, melt butter, stir in flour and cook 1 minute. Add broth and whisk until smooth. Heat over medium heat until thick and bubbly.
4. Stir in sour cream and chilies. Do not bring to boil, you don’t want curdled sour cream.
5. Pour over enchiladas and top with remaining cheese.
6. Bake 22 min and then under high broil for 3 min to brown the cheese.
Now keep in mind that this recipe calls for green chillies. THESE ARE NOT HOT. They give the white sauce an amazing flavor, but I don’t understand why they are called chillies because I promise… they are not spicy at all.
Thanks for reading!! ENJOY!
gran and papThank you Gran and Pap! For everything! I love you!
3 thoughts on “A Thank You Note with a side of Fiesta

  1. Hello!
    Im still new to the blogging side of the world, and was wondering if you would take some time to share how you managed to get such an amazing blog,
    I just uploaded a new blog and from mine to yours i still think i need alot of work! haha!
    your blog is AMAZING, i love looking through and how you got your pictures on your page is beautifully laid out!
    keep up the good work,
    Zoe Lloyd

    P.s how have you managed to get so many views?
    I would only wish to one day be on the home page thingy lol

    x

    1. Actually I didn’t know that I was on the homepage! That’s exciting news!! Honestly, I enjoy reading other people blogs and I learn to better mine by doing that. I also comment on and like the blogs I like and that helps my views go up. Keep it up, I’m still kind of new and learning as well. You’ll get there! and thank you so much for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

