general · Life · Spiritual

Shaped to Serve

Image“But now, O Lord, you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are our potter; we are all the work of your hand.” -Isaiah 64:8

I began my pottery class today. I’m pretty stoked about it too. I’ve always been artsy, but ceramics and things of that sort have never been my strong suit. I’m there to learn and get better as the semester goes by though. I know I will get better with a lot of practice and time spent in the pottery shop. Many weekends I foresee will be spent there. 

Being in a pottery class makes me think of the verse above, Isaiah 64:8, because as Christians we are daily being molded and shaped into better followers of Christ. It takes patience and lots of time spent in the Word to continue to be shaped into the person we are meant to be.

We are the clay and God is constantly shaping us as we grow spiritually. It’s not easy, and as you may have noticed, it may be pretty difficult at times. The best thing to remember is the project is not done as soon as you pick up the clay. It takes time and patience to get the piece just the way you want it.

I love seeing Christ in little things like this. This is just an extra curricular class and you can pull scripture from it! Just about every thing you do; everyday activities, you can see how scripture can relate. There is nothing you can be going through that God cannot help you through. Scripture covers everything! Any trials and tribulations.

You still have so much potential left in you.  God’s not done shaping you yet.

 

One thought on “Shaped to Serve

Leave a Reply

