Uncategorized

Forgive… Because He Forgave.

I feel like God and I go round and round on this subject. He tells me to forgive, just as His Son forgave me, but it can get pretty hard sometimes. We are supposed to forgive those who hurt us and by forgiving you let it go… never to be brought up again. But what if what that person did really hurt you? Like really emotionally hurt you and you can’t stop thinking about it. I’m going through this right now. No details to give, but I’m really struggling with forgiving this person. I can’t stop thinking about it.

God is telling me to forgive, but maybe I’m not ready to forgive. Then I feel convicted because Jesus didn’t wait until he was ready to forgive me. He didn’t sit there are run all my sins through his head for a couple days, holding a grudge for while. No, he forgave me right then and there. On the cross, without hesitation. God has been trying to teach me this lesson for while and we still go round and round every time someone upsets me.

“Forgive and let go” He says.

So I’m trying, but I know I can’t do it without the help of my Savior. I’m only human, God never said it would be easy. He did however say that He would never leave me, nor forsake me. It’s great to know that I serve a loving, patient, gracious God. I’m glad He doesn’t expect me to be perfect. I know I’m a sinner and I will sin everyday. But I’m so thankful for what Jesus has done on the cross. I’m so thankful for God’s forgiveness. I pray that I seek to glorify Him everyday and not just on my bad days.

So I’m working on this forgiveness thing. God has forgiven me and he let go of my sins. That’s what I’m doing. Forgiving and forgetting. People will hurt you and sometimes they won’t apologize. Don’t sit around and wait for that apology. Let them know that you forgive them and that you will let it go. That’s what Jesus would do.

Leave a Reply

