Family · Life · Love · Spiritual

Ah, it’s a little late…

Well, it’s the new year! Twenty-fourteen. My how last year flew.

I’m not one to make new year resolutions. I can’t seem to ever keep them. I get a few months in and poof.. gone.. forgotten.

I am however excited to see what God has in store for this year! I’m praying that my brother gets saved this year. He’s been an athiest his whole life until like a few months ago. The only thing I’m worried about is this accident that happened might make him want to hate God.

You see, a couple weeks ago, if that, my brother got in a accident with a train. His car broke down and he knew the guy that lived on the other side of the train tracks and wanted to use his phone. Well, he began to climb over a stopped train when it started to move and his foot got caught and he fell off and the train ran over his leg right at the hip. He completely lost his leg.

Now my brother is not a bad person. He’s had a pretty rough past but he’s not a bad person. And this was his thought when he woke up from surgery. Why him? Just when he started believing there’s a God. I’m hoping this helps him grow closer to God and not away.

If you pray, I just ask that you keep my brother, Michael, in your prayers. If you don’t pray, I just ask you keep him in your thoughts as he goes through this long recovery. He’s in a lot of pain and remembers the whole thing. He is experiencing phantom leg everyday too and it hurts him.

I cry daily when I think of the pain he’s went through and is going to go through. He’s been pretty optimistic about it though. Stronger than I could be. I just pray that he continues to be this optimistic. I do not look forward to his down days. I hate to see him in pain..

He’s also a recovery drug addict. And now he has to be on very strong pain meds to even survive this recovery. I hope when it’s time to start easing off them it doesn’t turn him back to other drugs.

On a brighter note, just days after the accident he stood up and gave me a hug. He’s even stood up to take a shower since then too. He’s doing well!

I’ve never been a fan of his girlfriend, but he loves her so I looked past it… but she’s the reason he is still here. She kept him conscious.  She applied pressure to his leg and used her jacket to make a tourniquet. I can’t thank her enough for what she’s done.

My brother means so much to me. He was my best friend growing up. I just pray that we can be that close again.

Leave a Reply

