Life · Spiritual

Set an Example

children

So along with my new job as the childcare coordinator at my church, I’ve also started teaching a story in a large group setting to the first through fifth grade children on Sunday morning. I’ve struggled with this a bit because my public speaking isn’t the greatest.

It’s also much different when you speaking in front of adults versus speaking to children. Questions. Children LOVE questions. They love interaction. They also like to take the spotlight and run with it! haha! Sometimes you have to guide the spotlight back to yourself.

But really, like I said, I struggle with public speaking. I even almost quit doing this because I thought I was doing horrible and that it just wasn’t my calling. And even though I’m still not fully convinced it is, I’ve decided to continue to do it for now. I feel like I’m getting better and I’m getting positive feedback; so I must be doing okay, right?

The last couple weeks I’ve been telling them about Timothy and Paul and how Timothy had been travelling with Paul and learning from his preaching and teaching style.

I’ve used Lego figures, Mr. Potato Head, an assistant acting out parts, etc to help me tell my story and keep the attention of the tiny humans. It’s quite fun actually! This week, I don’t have any toys to help me with my story but I love the topic!

Even though I’m speaking to children, we as adults can benefit from this lesson as well. It’s all based around 1 Timothy 4:12

Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith, and in purity.

Basically, I’m telling the children that there are ways that God wants them to set an example now, even though they are so young.

In how they speak and in how they live!

This really goes for everyone!

Using kind words, helping others, going to church, telling others about Jesus, etc.

Children’s ministries are great! Leading the younger generation to set examples to others around them, even if they are older. Some of these children might help lead their parents to Christ. It just gives me so much joy seeing them engaged and learning about Jesus.

I didn’t get saved until middle school, but I was in college before I really knew what it meant to follow Jesus! Everyday I’m growing and deepening my faith in him, but it’s just an amazing thing seeing these children so young have so much enthusiasm for Christ.

How are ways you can set an example in how you speak and how you live in your everyday life?

Leave a Reply

