Family · Life · Love

My Top 4 Thing’s I’ve Learned as a Twenty-Something “Adult”

wpid-2015-11-04-10.53.20.jpg.jpg

Seems like there have been many posts lately written by twenty-somethings about adulthood and what being a post graduate has taught them about the real world.

I got married exactly one month after I graduated college back in the Spring of 2013. We had our hearts set on moving to Louisville, Kentucky but God sent us to Franklin, Kentucky instead. I’m so glad He did!

I love it here! It’s a small town, but I can be in Nashville in 45 minutes (traffic allowing, of course).

One year after being married, I got pregnant with our first and only (for now) child. Adulthood for me is now making sure I don’t kill my 9 month old. My son is my world. I couldn’t imagine my life without him.

So my adulthood might look a little different than others my age. Some are still trying to figure out the dating world, the grad school world, the what-I-want-to-be world and all those other worlds and I’m figuring out the work at home mom world.

I work for my church, which allows me to do the majority of my work from the comfort of my own home. I get to stay home with my son! A lot of moms don’t have the option to do so. I didn’t until recently when I was offered this position.

So now that I’ve given a little background into my post-grad life, here are some of the things I’ve learned being a twenty-something “adult”.

  1. Adults, especially moms, don’t have it all together.

My house stays messy, my dishes and laundry are rarely both done, my child might get a bath every other night…might, my dog (poor thing) might get a bath every other two months. I don’t have it all together, and the more I read mommy blogs I find that no one really does so it’s okay.

2.There is nothing wrong with marrying young.

You might have seen the meme that says something like getting married at 21 is like leaving a party at 9 o’clock. In my opinion, this meme is so wrong! I absolutely love being married and I wouldn’t change the fact that I was married at 21. My husband is 4, almost 5 years older than me. I had dated guys my age and even some younger than me and I couldn’t deal with that. The maturity level was just WAY different. Anyway, I get to spend my life with an amazing man and we get to help and watch each other grow.

3. The friends you had in college, won’t necessarily be your real world friends. 

I moved away after college, like most people do. I didn’t even move back to my home town. In fact, I’m four hours away from even my family. If it weren’t for social media, I wouldn’t know what anyone from college was up to. Even with social media, I still don’t talk to half the people I hung around with at college. This is normal. Now that you are all adulting, there isn’t much time to just sit and chat like you used to. It doesn’t mean you don’t still care about them, it just means you are all busy with your own lives. Here and now, that’s what is the most important.   

4. Despite what you think, you’re doing fine.

If you feel like curling up with junk food and watching Disney movies… DO IT! So what if you’re 25, don’t let anyone tell you that you are too old to do this. I believe adults with childlike charisma are the ones that will get further in life. You’re in your twenties, don’t act like what you are doing now is what you’ll be doing for the rest of your life. Unless you’re already doing what you want to do for the rest of your life, and if that’s you… Good for you! If you’re still not sure what you want to do… good for you!

It’s okay, there’s still plenty of time. I’m probably not going to be a stay at home mom in fifteen years from now. I’ll probably get back out and get a job, but for now I’m going to work from home so I can be here with my son. Hopefully, Lord willing we’ll be able to bring another beautiful baby into this family and hopefully, I’ll be able to stay at home until all our children start school.

Truth is, adulthood is different for everyone because everyone is unique in their goals and aspirations.

Do what you love. Go paint something, build something, travel somewhere, go get an education or more education than what you have. Just do something that makes you happy. Don’t let the world put standards on you about what you should or should not be during at your age.

Are you happy?

Yes?

Good, keep doing what you’re doing.

No?

Do something different.

4 thoughts on “My Top 4 Thing’s I’ve Learned as a Twenty-Something “Adult”

  1. Thanks for the follow Kimberly. I love your blog and it’s wonderful to hear how fulfilled you are by doing the simple things in life. I am very similar. Your blog is super and I look forward to keeping up to date with it!

Leave a Reply

