Uncategorized

Pumpkin Spiced Cheesecake

Well, I fell off my post day schedule. I guess when my usual, daily schedule gets compromised it gets difficult to stay on track. Now with the holidays coming up, it might become the same issue. It’s difficult to write drafts, think of topics, and edit posts when you’re traveling and visiting family.

So this post will be pretty simple and just in time for Thanksgiving. The other night I wanted to make a pumpkin pie (again!) but this time I wanted to try something a tad bit different. So I got on Pinterest (of course), the only place I find recipes, and found a simple pumpkin cheesecake recipe. Now, it was supposed to be marbled and I did a terrible job at that, but the cheesecake tastes delicious!

So here’s the finished product.

wpid-img_20151122_164504.jpg

The crust is just a simple graham cracker crumb crust. If you want hassle free you can buy the pre-made. If you’re like me and want to feel like you made it all from scratch you can buy the graham cracker crumbs in a box OR if you really want to make it from scratch you can buy the whole graham crackers and crush them up yourself in a blender or food processor.

So here’s my recipe which I tweaked a little from the hundreds I found on Pinterest.

Ingredients

Crust

  • 1 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs (Keebler)
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/3 cup melted butter

Pumpkin Cheesecake Filling

  • 2 (8 oz) packages cream cheese (softened)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 4 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup (8 oz) canned pumpkin puree (not a whole can! only one cup!)
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F.
  2. Mix the crumbs,spices and the melted butter. Press evenly in the bottom of a pie pan (I’m pretty sure mine’s a 9 in pan)
  3. Refrigerate (the recipe I read said for 5 to 10 minutes, but I just left it in there until I needed to put the filling in it)
  4. In a mixing bowl, add the cream cheese, 1/3 cup sugar and heavy cream. Stir until fluffy
  5. Add the egg and blend well.
  6. Reserve 1/3 cup of the cream cheese mixture.
  7. Add the pumpkin, brown sugar and pumpkin pie spices to the remaining cream cheese mixture.
  8. Blend well.
  9. Pour the pumpkin cheese mixture into the chilled crust. Spread evenly.
  10. With a spoon, drop dollops of the reserved cream cheese mixture and make some swirls. You can use a fork or knife. I used a chopstick.
  11. Bake in oven for 25 minutes or until the center is set.
  12. Refrigerate for a couple of hours before slicing.

 

Step 12 was the hard part. Wait a COUPLE OF HOURS!? So worth it though.

There you have it! I simple and scrumptious pumpkin cheesecake recipe just in time for the holidays!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

